Diffident

I would have loved you, if I could.
I would have given everything to you;

my thoughts, my heart, and my reason would have all been yours.
If I had loved you, there wouldn’t be a doubt in my mind,
there wouldn’t be a moment’s hesitation,
when I uttered the words, “I am yours.”
But it’s impossible,
I have nothing to give you,
I have nothing of value.
My mind has grown empty, my words meaningless,
and because of that,
my love cannot be yours.

— unknown/andwhisper
4 responses to “Diffident

  1. The best thing to give is yourself. No price tag.

    “My mind has grown empty, my words meaningless.” Only because those words were perhaps never said that they’ve become meaningless. Mind’s empty because perhaps it overcrowded with “nothingness”.

  2. Just checking in stranger. 🙂

  3. Have a lovely, sunflower day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

