Almost lover

Oh, the way she feels about me has changed
Thanks for playing, try again
How could I forget?
Mama said “think before speaking”
No filter in my head
Oh, what’s a boy to do
I guess he better find one

I’m never speaking up again
It only hurts me
I’d rather be a mystery
Than she desert me

Oh I’m never speaking up again
Starting now… Starting now


One more thing
Why is it my fault?
So maybe I try too hard
But it’s all because of this desire
I just wanna be liked
I just wanna be funny
Looks like the jokes on me
So call me captain backfire

 

I’m never speaking up again
it only hurts me
I’d rather be a mystery
than she desert me

Oh I’m never speaking up again
I’m never speaking up again
I’m never speaking up again
Starting now, starting now…

 

— My Stupid Mouth - John Mayer
6 responses to “Almost lover

  1. John Mayer, the man with a million issues.

    Can being hurt change a person tragically or is it not wanting to get hurt that makes them put up a wall too hard to climb over?

  2. The person was burnt first, and so, they love, or whatever they want to call it, in a disastrous way.

    To what depth can a person love again after they’ve been burnt in the first place?

    For Mayer, I think something set him off. He’s not the same person that came out when he first came out on the scene. Or maybe he was and now he’s exposing his true nature.

    Being hurt can, but not all the time lead to . . .

Leave a Reply

